Friday, April 10, 2009

Smoking is bad...but quitting is a bitch!

So the bff's birthday wish/order was for me to quit smoking. I have known smoking was bad since I first heard about it..but damnit I enjoy it! So although I need to quit..i don't really wanna...but i'm gonna try. Not only will my best friend refuse to talk to me if I don't quit..but my lover and I had also made a deal several months ago. And the only part left is for me to keep my word..better late than never. FUCK. So there are several things that I'm going to be doing to ensure my success. I just called 1-800-NOBUTTS and gave them my address for them to send me some shit... but this lady was really not interested in talking to me...she wasn't motivating and I don't feel she was enthusiastic enough about her work as she should be. Monotone Molly.

Anyway..enough about her..more about me... So a few points of advice I found through my web surfing..apparently I should wash my hands or even shower if I feel the desire to smoke (haha..showering every time I want a smoke is a silly thought for me)...or after a meal if I get the urge, I should brush my teeth or go for a walk. I have written the reasons why I'd like to quit and taped the list to my pack or cigarettes to remind me why I'm not smoking them...a good idea for starting to quit is to buy a brand of cigarettes that you don't like to discourage you from wanting to smoke one...good ideas..so i gotta keep these in mind...

friends: please don't invite me for a cigarette please.. it's hard..i want the support of friends and family but I also get so defensive because i really don't WANT to quit..i just know i need to...just another one of those battles...Wants vs. Needs. Probably the hardest battles for me to fight. In any other area I would always follow my Wants...but when it comes to health, I guess wants are unimportant. I'm also spreading the news as much as possible so that the concept of my friends and family knowing i'll be quitting..it'll be embarassing for me to have them see me smoke or fail..so that's why i'm sharing this with y'all.

talking about quitting makes me want a cigarette =(
DAMN.YOU.CIGAR.ETTES!

2 comments:

  1. Hi sister...You definately know I support you! I only wish it was easier to do at such a long distance. I miss you. -kim

    ReplyDelete
  2. I totally understand! When I quit (which is on a yearly basis) I go exercise a lot. Like constantly so that I'm always out of breath and hate myself for smoking because I'm in so much pain... Then I end up going out to see friends - all of you - and end up smoking a shitload of cigs because I'm wasted all the time. I love you Jess! Good luck!

    ReplyDelete